Shake ya ass!!

That’s once my dance teacher from school shouted at me when I was trying to do steps in her class. Standing among another 20-25 class mates (Yeah, there were the female species too), that was kinda embarrassing for me. But nevertheless, I took it as a phrase and throughout my life I use it instead of ‘dance’ word. Something like saying ‘let’s shake our ass tonight’ for ‘let’s dance tonight’ or ‘you wanna shake your ass’ to ask ‘you wanna dance ‘ etc etc

Anyways, though my training sessions for ‘shaking my ass’ stopped with those sessions, I am an ardent follower of any kind of dance forms. Michael Jackson (leave aside child molestation & skin color change controversies) was my icon and never had got enough of his dancing performance till now. When coming to Indian scene, people like Prabhu Deva Madhuri Dixit and Hrithik Roshan always amazed me.

Kathak

Then I realized there is more to this form of art other than these commercialized categories. After attending few of traditional Indian dance styles my love got more brightened. Kathak is a traditional dance form originated in the northern part of India which means ‘to tell a story.’ This follows a pattern where Guru (teacher) passes knowledge to Sishya (student). Combined with measured steps and facial expressions, Kathak takes you to an imaginary world.

Kathakali, originated in Kerala, is a colorful dance format. The artist is heavily adorned with striking bright costumes and facial make ups. They adapt a story and narrate it well through facial expression and the movements of fingers. Though you need patience to enjoy this format, it is definitely a work commendable. The stories are adapted from epics like Ramayana and Mahabharata. The music used in this format got a distinctive style of its own.

Kathakali

Mohiniyattam, another one from Kerala, this art form is performed as a solo recital by woman in a graceful manner. As the name suggests, it is actually a ‘dance of enchantress.’ This is loosely based on stories where Lord Vishnu disguised as ‘Mohini’ trying to lure Asuras. Love and destruction is the theme of this art form.

Mohiniyattam

All dance lovers, for sure watch these art forms. More on other traditional dance forms check out this space often.

